disaster declaration

Peoria Public Radio/Kristin McHugh

Peoria, Tazewell and Woodford counties are among 34 included in a disaster proclamation issued by Governor J.B. Pritzker. The governor issued the declaration today in response to rapidly rising water and record crests on the Illinois and Mississippi rivers.


Creative Commons/Antti T. Nissinen

SPRINGFIELD - Gov. J.B. Pritzker has issued a disaster proclamation ahead of forecasted double-digit subzero temperatures in Illinois, calling the weather "potentially historic."

Forecasters say flooding in north-suburban Chicago could worsen over the weekend as water flows down rivers into the state from Wisconsin.

Credit Cass Herrington / Peoria Public Radio

Bruce Rauner has issued a state disaster proclamation for 23 counties devastated by severe storms this summer and has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help assess the damages there.  Rauner Monday said a series of storms in June and July caused heavy rainfall, flash and river flooding, tornadoes and straight-line winds in the 23 counties stretching from Alexander County on the Ohio River to Grundy County in north central Illinois. 


 Illinois officials say low-interest, long-term loans will be available to families and businesses in nine northern Illinois counties recovering from the April 9 tornado. The Illinois Emergency Management Agency made the announcement Thursday. The loan assistance through the U.S. Small Business Administration was approved following a survey of uninsured losses in the region. Gov.