Peoria County Included in Governor's Disaster Proclamation

May 3, 2019

City workers prepare sandbags for the Peoria riverfront on Thursday, May 2, 2019.
Credit Peoria Public Radio/Kristin McHugh

Peoria, Tazewell and Woodford counties are among 34 included in a disaster proclamation issued by Governor J.B. Pritzker. The governor issued the declaration today in response to rapidly rising water and record crests on the Illinois and Mississippi rivers.


Flood warnings remain in effect for the Illinois River and others across the state following several days of heavy rain.

The National Weather Service upgraded its flood forecast for the Illinois River in Peoria late this morning. Officials now expect the river to rise a full ten feet above the 18 foot flood stage by Monday morning. If the prediction holds, it would mark the fourth highest crest on the Illinois River in Peoria based on NWS historical data.

Governor Pritzker’s disaster proclamation directs state agency heads to help communities, “prepare for and respond to the ongoing flood risks across the state.”