Peoria Officers Named in Sept 20th Shooting

Oct 31, 2017

  The Peoria Police Department released the names of the officers involved in the September 20th standoff and shooting of Eddie Russell Jr.


They are Sergeant Matthew Lane and Officers Sean Johnston, Christopher Heaton, Tyler Hodges, Jason Leigh and Ian McDowell.  The six tactical officers are on critical incident leave pend the results of the state police investigation. It’s a matter of standard practice after such a police shooting.

Eddie Russell Jr pictured with his mom, Anita Johnson.
Credit #JusticeforEddieJr

  Russell was shot about 18 times when he emerged from his mother’s home reportedly with a raised gun after a two-hour standoff with police. Police had followed him there as the primary suspect in an armed bank robbery that had just happened, blocks from the residence.  

The Peoria Police Department released the names of the officers after receiving authorization from the Peoria County State’s Attorney’s Office. State’s Attorney Jerry Brady has responsibility for reviewing the findings of the Illinois State Police investigation and determining whether charges will be filed. The investigation is expected to be complete soon.