Medical marijuana business applications awarded

Feb 2, 2015

Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner's office is out with the list of medical marijuana applicants that have been awarded permits. 

In the five- county District 8 region that includes Peoria and Tazewell Counties, Ace Delevan, LLC is the Cultivation Center winner. Those authorized to register as a dispensary in District 8 are Nu Med RX, LLC and Trinity MMJ, LLC. 

Click here for the complete list of recipients from the Governor's Office

Amanda Vinicky reports on Governor Bruce Rauner's announced list of companies that will be able to grow and sell medical marijuana in Illinois.

Illinois law spelled out what was supposed to be a blind process to select who'd get the potentially-lucrative pot licenses. Though it appears as if former Gov. Pat Quinn's administration had selected winners, he finished his term last month without awarding any. That seemingly put the whole program in jeopardy;

Rauner had criticized the application process when he was running for governor. But he's going ahead with it; his office sent out a list of companies that'll become regional cultivation centers and dispensaries of the drug. But that's only in certain areas. Other applicants are on hold.

A memo from Rauner's top attorney identified problems with the Quinn administration's process like disqualifying applicants without clear reasons. The lawyer says decisions made by Quinn's crew would not have withstood a lawsuit. He apologized to patients for the additional delay.